top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMs. Arika

January 2021 Library update

Hello Sockeye families,

Happy New Year! Two quick things from your Sockeye library:

  1. There will be guest teacher next week for all library classes.

    • I will be out next week as I serve the conclusion of my term as a member of the 2021 Newbery Selection Committee. I am one of 15 librarians across the US (and the only K-5 librarian) serving on the Newbery Committee, and I thank you for your understanding of my absence. You may have heard of or seen books with the Newbery medal, as it’s the highest award given in children’s literature for distinguished writing. For those wondering, our award winners will be announced January 25 and will stream live online.

    • ALL library classes will happen the same as always! Your student will log into library Zoom as usual and the substitute will be there!


  1. February’s library book request form is ready! https://forms.gle/8Godz8qKnpQ4Qirm6

    • You or your child may complete the form for book requests in by Monday, January 18!

    • Books will be ready for pick-up Feb 3&4, 2021


I love being part of Sunset’s community, teaching & inspiring your reader every week.

With thanks and appreciation,

Ms Arika

Arika Dickens (she / her)

teacher-librarian, NBCT, MLIS

Sunset Elem | Issaquah, WA

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

February 2021 Library update

Dear Sockeye Families, Two things this month! NEW! I’m hosting live meet-ups for K/1 students! These are just for fun and do not take the place of asynchronous library class. They start tomorrow and

December 2020 Library email

Hello Sockeye Readers! First: it appears as though there are some new-to-me glitches in our library system. My sincere apologies if you’ve received any email from me showing ISD technology as ‘overdue

bottom of page